Headhouse Farmers’ Market – First Trip of the Year!

June 17, 2012 § 3 Comments

As I mentioned previously, I love running down to Headhouse Farmers’ Market on Sunday mornings.  This is probably my favorite farmers’ market for that ritualistic aspect alone.  Headhouse Market takes place seasonally (early May – early December) on Sundays from 10AM – 2PM at 2nd and Lombard Street.  It attracts many quality vendors and probably has one of the largest selections in terms of variety as far as Philadelphia farmers’ markets are concerned.  Since I was out of town for over a month today was actually my first visit to Headhouse since December!

I usually walk through first to survey all of the offerings and then decide what I am going to buy.  Sometimes I will have something I need a specific amount of an item for (usually canning related), but I also just like to pick up a few things that I think will be fun to use for the upcoming week.  This week I really had no clue what I wanted, though of course once I saw everything I wanted it all.

In the end however, this is what I ended up with:

  • 1/2 Dozen Garlic Dill Pickled Eggs (!) – Mountain View Poultry ($3.50)
  • Garlic Scapes – Root Mass Farm (4 bunches/$5)
  • Pattypan Squash – Blooming Glen Farm ($2)
  • Rainbow Chard – Blooming Glen Farm ($2)
  • 1 Pint Strawberries – Beechwood Orchards ($3.75)
  • 1/2 Pint Blueberries – Beechwood Orchards ($2.75)
  • 1lb Fava Beans – Queens Farm ($2.50)

Few people probably get as excited over pickled eggs as I do and I don’t recall ever seeing them available before.  She had several varieties (beet, mustard, garlic dill, and buffalo are the ones I recall) and I wanted all of them.  I will probably pickle the scapes and use the fava beans to make scafata, a Northern Italian stew that I made for the first time last spring when searching for something to make with fava beans.  One of the reasons why I love shopping farmers’ markets and seasonally is that it allows me to discover new (to me) things all the time.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Headhouse Farmers’ Market – First Trip of the Year!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Headhouse Farmers’ Market – First Trip of the Year! at Kale and Ale.

meta

