Weekly Recap

June 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

Exercise:

  • Monday – 3.1 mile run
  • Tuesday – 2.0 mile run
  • Wednesday – 2.5 mile run + 60 minute vinyasa flow yoga class
  • Thursday – 1.0 mile run
  • Friday – 3.0 mile run
  • Saturday – 5.0 mile run + 120 minute “advanced practice” vinyasa flow yoga class that wore me down physically and mentally
  • Sunday – 2.5 mile run

I am pleased that I got back to running daily, though I am not sure my body is.  However, I need to find some way to practice yoga more and should probably seriously look into finding a studio here in Philadelphia to do some work exchange with.

Most memorable event of the week: I saw Mogwai at Union Transfer on Tuesday.  An old friend who I have long since lost contact with introduced me to them over a decade ago.  I haven’t listened to them much in recent years, but this show was already canceled about 10 times (might be a slight exaggeration, but I’m not sure at this point) and who knows when the next will happen so I figured I would go.  I love live music and unfortunately haven’t gotten to enjoy it enough in recent years.  The only way I can really describe the music of Mogwai is “beautiful noise”.  Really, really beautiful noise.

Best thing I ate: I don’t recall having eaten much that was very memorable this week as I have been trying to eat both healthier and at home.  I did finally have the small strawberry rhubarb pie I purchased last week from some Amish stand that was part of a random farm market in center city.  So delicious.

Best thing I drank: Three Floyds Dreadnaught IPA.  Who knows when I will ever get to enjoy this again.  Somehow a keg of it ended up here (I won’t ask any questions) so I extended my usual run to the farmers’ market this AM about a mile west to get a glass.  So there I was drinking a pint of 9.5% ABV beer around noon on a Sunday morning by myself in my running clothes.  At least it was a more casual cafe/bottle shop environment.  Beer with that high of an ABV is generally not served in pint glasses so I am not sure if this was a server mistake or what.  Definitely made me feel a bit fuzzy though.  Anyway, this is a really beautiful beer.  Wonderful combination of hops, malts, and citrus notes.  Just very clean and balanced.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekly Recap at Kale and Ale.

meta

