Tuna and Fennel Salad

June 18, 2012 § Leave a comment

Part of me hates getting salads when I go to eat because I see them as something I can easily and cheaply make at home.  When going to out to eat I to to prefer to get things I can’t make at home as easily or as economically for one person.  However, one benefit of getting salads at different places is finding ones that I can recreate at home.  Especially ones that use ingredients I have never thought to combine before.  This salad is based on the tuna and spinach salad at Pure Fare.  Pure Fare is a great spot in center city Philadelphia to grab a quick, healthy meal and they have options for all dietary needs with an emphasis on vegan and gluten-free items.  I realize that fennel is one of those food items that people either love or hate (or have never tried).  I happen to love it and fortunately for me it is everywhere right now!

Tuna and Fennel Salad – Ingredients:

  • 1 bag spring mix or salad greens of your choice
  • 1 can solid white tuna, drained
  • 1 small bulb of fennel
  • 1c garbanzo beans
  • 4 Tbls sliced olives
  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tbls balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp herbs de provence
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced

Cut the fennel into thin strips.  Combine with spring mix, tuna, garbanzo beans, and olives.  In a small bowl combine olive oil, balsamic vinegar, herbs de provence, and the juice of the lemon.  Whisk and pour.

I usually eat salads like this as a meal, so I only get about two servings out of most.  The beer pictured is Central City Red Betty IPA (known as Red Racer in Canada, I assume Bear Republic took issues with that).  I saw it in a bottle shop and was intrigued because it was Canadian and canned.  Don’t ask me why I found that so intriguing because I don’t really know.  Anyway, I figured I would give it a try since I wish there were more canned beers that I liked.  This reminded me a lot of Oskar Blues’ Dale’s Pale Ale, a hoppier pale ale which I am not really a big fan of.  Deviant Dale’s however is another story and one of the only canned beers I have had that I really enjoy (a lot).

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tuna and Fennel Salad at Kale and Ale.

meta

