Weekly Recap

June 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

Exercise:

  • Monday – None
  • Tuesday – None
  • Wednesday – 2.0 mile run
  • Thursday – 2.0 mile run
  • Friday – 1.5 mile run
  • Saturday – 2.0 mile run
  • Sunday – 75 minute vinyasa flow yoga class

Not much activity at all this week compared to last week.  I had set out to complete the Runner’s World run streak, daily running of at least 1 mile from Memorial Day through 4th of July, and while I broke it once I was also determined to get back on track.  But after last week I kind of felt that daily running wasn’t the thing best for my body right now.  My joints were aching and I knew I would have to start training for a half-marathon soon and didn’t want to risk unnecessary injury.  Then the heat wave set in and all I could really muster were short runs.  Yoga also wasn’t the priority it should be and I only made it to class once today.

Most memorable event of the week: This week has honestly not been that great.  I’m struggling a lot this week with being unemployed and being pretty alone in Philadelphia.  I can’t seem to meet people I connect with and I finding employment continues to be rough.  Emotionally I’m pretty exhausted and overwhelmed.  I think I walked at least 20 miles alone because I have no idea what else to do with myself.

Best thing I ate: Again, I didn’t eat out much this or even really make anything too exciting at home.  I did go to the new Philadelphia branch of Shake Shack on Thursday where I got a single ShackBurger, fries, and the ShackMeister Ale made for Shake Shack by Brooklyn Brewery.  For a fast, casual option that is cheaper than a sit-down restaurant I think their burgers are pretty good.  But if you have the time and can afford a bit more there are so many amazing burgers in Philadelphia.  The fact that this “tiny” meal had me stuffed however, and made me wonder if I should give up my American passport.  Satisfied my burger craving though (it was intense).  Also, I would love to go back soon for a concrete, specifically the “Liberty Shell” which is made with cannoli shells from Termini Bros. and lemon ricotta.

Best thing I drank: Cantillon, Cantillon, and more Cantillon.  Is it sad that drinking Cantillon was the highlight of my week?  Probably.  But it is always a delicious treat.  On Tuesday I was feeling rather down and going sort of stir crazy so I decided to get dressed in actual clothing that wasn’t made of moisture wicking material and leave my apartment.  But I honestly had no idea where to go as I really have nowhere to go.  I walked about 3 miles straight to Center City where I stopped to get coffee.  I was going to hit up a bar for a burger and beer later in the afternoon, but then I saw through twitter that Monk’s Cafe was having a Cantillon event (Jean Van Roy of Cantillon was there, I guess he made a stop in Philadelphia before other Northeast events he was attending) and of course had to go.  I (thoroughly) enjoyed some Fou’ Foune, Lou Pepe Kriek (2009), Rose de Gambrinus, and Classic Gueze.  I couldn’t really get any decent photos of anything, since it was packed as is usual with Monk’s these days and looked sort of like this (I’m pretty short):

Well anyway, that is about it.  Hoping this week is a bit better!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekly Recap at Kale and Ale.

meta

