Philadelphia Rock ‘N’ Roll Half-Marathon Training Has Begun!

June 29, 2012 § 2 Comments

I officially registered to run in the Rock ‘N’ Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon on September 16th today!  My training officially started earlier this week as well.  I am basically just using the Hal Higdon Novice 1 training plan and toying with the idea of running the full Philadelphia Marathon two months later.  I was planning on running the half for that race as well and did not have my sights set on a full marathon at all until recently.  I think part of me is just looking for something, anything, to work toward.  Something to make me feel more alive.  I’m not sure that will get me through a full marathon however, or if it is good reason to even run one.  I’m sure I wouldn’t be the first who used such reasoning, but I know I should not push my body to do something it isn’t ready for.  Most of the novice full marathon plans I see only have you running 20 miles before the race and that does scare me.  I know these people are professionals and many have used their plans.  I guess your mind and adrenaline is enough to you through the last 6 miles?  Running doesn’t exactly come naturally to me, so I’m still a bit skeptical.

But I am confident I can run a strong 13.1 miles and I am very excited to be training for a half marathon!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Philadelphia Rock ‘N’ Roll Half-Marathon Training Has Begun!

  • […] felt very strong this week in terms of activity.  As I said on Friday, I began training for the Philadelphia Rock ‘N’ Roll Half Marathon this week.  I felt fairly strong running despite the intense heat aside from Thursday, when I stopped my […]

  • […] of the main things I wanted to write about here is my race training.  As mentioned previously, I am running a half marathon on September 16th (less than a month away!) and have been training for it during much of this summer.  I actually […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Philadelphia Rock ‘N’ Roll Half-Marathon Training Has Begun! at Kale and Ale.

meta

