What I Ate Wednesday – Food and Fitness

July 11, 2012 § Leave a comment

Today was a pretty typical day in terms of eating well, but just sort of what I felt like eating at any given moment.  For the past few weeks I have been doing very well with losing weight while eating totally intuitively (within reason and limits).  While this excites me, I think some structure might be good for me for several reasons.  Anyway, here is what I ate today:  

Breakfast: Banana and PB & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter.

Lunch: Ric’s Bread 14 grain English muffin from the farmers’ market, peach mango jalapeno jam made by me, and an egg fried in olive oil.  Had this after a hot and quick 2 mile run and it was quite tasty.

Snack #1: Cherries

Snack #2: Vegan chocolate mousse from Whole Foods.  I LOVE this stuff.  Tastes so rich and decadent.  I should probably try making it on my own one day, but then I’m afraid I’d eat too much of it.

Dinner: 3 potato and onion pierogies from The Polish Farmers fried in olive oil, light sour cream, steamed brussels sprouts.

Snack #3: Broccoli and blue cheese dressing.

Snack #4: 1 slice multi grain bread and more PB & Co Dark Chocolate Dreams (not pictured because I ate it so late and well, you get the idea anyway).

While I don’t think I ate poorly today, I realize more and more that I really need to start getting into meal planning for the week.  I also need to learn a bit more about how to correctly fuel my body while training for a marathon, as I am 99% sure I am going to sign up to run the full Philadelphia Marathon.  Right now I am just kind of building a bit more of a solid base, but with time I will have different needs.  Being that this is all new to me I should start getting serious about it!  Since I am actively trying to lose weight (about 15lbs or so, still not even sure what my “goal weight” is) I have to take that into consideration as well.  One book I am really interested in picking up is Racing Weight: How to Get Lean for Peak Performance by Matt Fitzgerald. But regardless it would both save me money and prevent me from wasting food if I began planning my meals out.  I just get so bored with cooking for one and sometimes it seems like it costs more to do that than it would to buy something prepared or semi-prepared.

For more posts from people who probably do actually plan their meals head over to Peas and Crayons.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I Ate Wednesday – Food and Fitness at Kale and Ale.

meta

