Weekly Recap

July 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

Exercise:

  • Monday – None
  • Tuesday – 3.5 mile run
  • Wednesday – 2 mile run
  • Thursday – 1.5 mile run to meet up with running group, 1.5 mile run with running group
  • Friday – None
  • Saturday – 90 minute vinyasa flow yoga class
  • Sunday – 5.0 mile run

Running followed my training plan exactly aside from being short half of a mile on Thursday.  I definitely lacked int he yoga department this week, only getting the one class in.  Could feel it while in that class.  My muscles were so tight!  My run today felt amazing though and I wanted to go even further, but being new I am a bit afraid of deviating from the planned runs.  Probably wouldn’t be a big deal at this point when all runs are under 10 miles, but I’m a bit stringent with plans to begin with.

Most memorable event of the week: I attended the WXPN XPoNential Festival this weekend (yet another item on the summer bucket list)!  So many great artists played over the three-day period, but the highlight for me was definitely The Hold Steady.  They are such a great act to see live.  Part of the magic of live music for me is feeding off of the energy of both the performers and the audience.  When either or both is lacking it makes seeing a live show a bit pointless personally.  With The Hold Steady that is never the case.  Both the band, particularly frontman Craig Finn who is quite possibly the most animated lead singer out there, and the fans are always so into every minute of it all.  The band played this same festival in 2009 but had to stop early due to a really bad storm.  Very lucky that this didn’t happen again this year, because at times I was very afraid it might.  It rained all night, but certainly nothing major.  Here is a video from that 2009 performance (Franz Nicolay, the lovely man in the white suit playing the keyboard, is unfortunately no longer part of the band):

Best thing I ate: Probably everything I ate when I went to my hometown on Monday for the Mt. Carmel Festival!

Best thing I drank: While I drank many beer this week, most were rather common for the area.  This definitely isn’t a bad thing.  I had beers by Flying Fish, Victory, Yards, Sly Fox, Weyerbacher, Philadelphia Brewing Company and McKenzie Brew House.  Actually, the only non-PA/NJ beers I had this week were a Founders Porter and a Tecate.  I think the last time I had a Tecate I was actually in Mexico (and a decade younger).

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weekly Recap at Kale and Ale.

meta

