Hitting the Wissahickon Valley Trails

August 22, 2012 § Leave a comment

On Sunday I went on my first real trail run.  In the past I have done a bit of hiking, but since I wasn’t a runner then I never really ran much on trails.  Philadelphia actually has some wonderful trails within the city in the Wissahickon Valley and one of my summer bucket list items was to hike out there since I haven’t been in quite some time.  I wasn’t sure this one would be completed because I am not too fond of the idea of going out there myself.  Lucky for me however, a group I run with, the Fishtown Beer Runners, was planning a trail run and pot luck.  Perfect opportunity to get out there and I was very excited to run the trails instead of just hike.

Look, I’m running! This is the only photo I got along the way because guess what?  I found trail running to be completely exhausting and about halfway through this 4 mile run I was struggling to keep up with the group of people I was with.  And since I have a hard time admitting that I get lost easily I didn’t want to lose them.  I had run 9 miles the day before, which is long for me at this point, but still trail running seemed a bit more challenging than I thought it would be.  Total respect for those of you who do this regularly.  Of course it is also far more beautiful than the usual sights of the city (especially mine when not out running the Schuylkill River Path), so that helped keep me going too.  In the end it took me 51:10 to run 4 miles.

Afterward we all met up at the picnic tables near Valley Green Inn to enjoy some food and socializing.  Pretty sure I consumed about 4x as many calories as that run burned because everything just looked so amazing that I had not choice but to eat it.

Though I had a lot of fun I am not sure I will be doing any trail races or even runs in the near future.  With my current goals as a beginner runner I’m not sure it would be very smart of me.  I had some near-falls due to sloppy footing and my calves are still a bit sore.  But I am very glad that I at least got to get out there once this summer and I would love to add more trail running to my repertoire next year since I really do love being outdoors.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hitting the Wissahickon Valley Trails at Kale and Ale.

meta

